Posted by: News Works Marketing | October 27, 2015

It Can Be Scary Out There!

Rhonda HiltbrandNever trust anything that can think for itself if you can’t see where it keeps its brain. ~J.K. Rowling

Technology…even for us in marketing can be a challenge.  Why?  Because sometimes its benefits are so very hard to prove! I have had a salesperson bugging me for over a month wanting me to buy his program that basically would interrupt a shop owner doing a search with an ad.  I told this salesperson that:

Number 1 I can’t stand to have my searches interrupted by an ad and will sometimes just exit the site it took me to because that really annoys me! Why would I want to do that to auto repair shop owners?

Number 2 – Ad blocking has been threatened…so where would that leave me? Seems like that would be $1500 a month of wasted funds.

Number 3 – How would they target my customers as it is hard for me to even purchase a mailing or email list of independent auto repair shops without getting mostly new and used car dealerships and towing companies. I’ve wasted money on that before.

Needless to say he was very, very pushy and I hope he won’t bother me again!

Technology is a moving target.  What worked yesterday…might not work today…or tomorrow.  It is constantly changing.  I have a wonderful customer in Arizona who keeps great tabs on what works and doesn’t work for him.  He has a finger on the pulse of his business and his marketing.  He was surprised that ad words isn’t working so great now and that Yelp is doing well at this time.  When he paid a higher monthly fee for Yelp it didn’t work…now that he has gone with a less expensive package he is seeing good results.  Does he take that for granted? No…he will keep on testing to see.

Seems we never stop taking tests, right?

Happy Halloween from all of us at News Works Marketing!  Remember, if marketing is more frightening to you than things that go bump in the night…give us a call.  We are here to help!

Rhonda Hiltbrand
CEO
News Works Marketing

Leave a Reply

Categories

