Posted by: News Works Marketing | February 9, 2016

Technology – Can’t Live With It…Can’t Live Without It!

Rhonda HiltbrandNever trust anything that can think for itself if you can’t see where it keeps its brain. ~J.K. Rowling

Technology: “the knack of so arranging the world that we don’t have to experience it.” ~Max Frisch

The other day I had great plans and a very tight schedule.  Undaunted…I had it all planned to the minute…but technology had other ideas.  The night before when I went to shut down my laptop, it decided to do an hour’s worth of updates.  The next morning…it very unkindly spent another hour doing more plus initializing.  Usually it asks permission but I read afterwards that it was trying to be helpful.  Needless to say that backed up my entire day as I simply had to launch payroll that morning to Paycor and other necessary items on my to-do-list that required technology in order to be accomplished. I was only happy I didn’t have a flight to catch!  I know the plane wouldn’t wait for me anymore than my “updates” would.

I was recently speaking to shop owners about technology.  We love it, of course, when we feel in control.  We all pay for monthly subscription services and it is up to us to decide, after using them for a few months, if they are worth it. We discussed that very issue…how do you really know if you are in control if you don’t track it?  Many pay their monthly subscriptions and never look back.  They couldn’t honestly tell you if what they are paying for is working for them or not.

Make sure the very technology you are paying for is working…and it isn’t getting a boost from another source you are also paying for and taking credit!  That doesn’t help you!  If you can’t track it yourself…don’t use it!

When my customers ask my opinion about certain services I don’t provide, I do research for them and recommend…but I always say it is now up to them to track it!! Keep in mind that what works for one shop…doesn’t necessarily work for every shop!  Do your due diligence.

Notice the quotes I used above…our technology does seem to be equipped with brains…like they think for themselves.  It is up to us though, to keep in touch with it enough that we do experience our world…and that we don’t just leave it up to technology as it keeps collecting its dues.

Have a great one!

Rhonda Hiltbrand
CEO
News Works Marketing

Leave a Reply

Categories

